THE MONGOLS ARE GUILTY! ... No really, I wasn't in class today, did we win?
I enjoyed this project. Maybe it's because I already did a mock trial for Napoleon last year, or maybe it's the fact that I solely did the opening statement but I found it relatively easy. Most of my information came from the book and movies we watched in class, but it was sufficient to write an acceptable opening statement. I think I did well. I only wish I had my opening statement memorized better, so that I could make better eye contact with the audience. Apart from that, I think I did well. I woke up that morning planning on wearing sweatpants, but i sprung for jeans when I remembered the trial. I mean, that's got to mean something. :)
I see the Mongols as selfish. Not exactly as ruthless as I made them out be, although they are ruthless. I see them as selfish because every action was for their own good. The Mongols only had their own best interests at heart. Yes, they would allow the talented from the conquered people to live in Karakorum with good social standing, but only because they lacked someone of equal talent among their own ranks.
Call me biased, but I do think the Mongols are guilty of Kidnapping and Terrorism. I'll give the defense side genocide. Although they did brutally kill innocent people, they didn't discriminate who they killed, and I guess, on a technicality, that means they aren't guilty of genocide. However, the Mongols are completely guilty of kidnapping and terrorism.
No comments:
Post a Comment